Promises, Promises

Human beings are not always good at keeping our promises.  We lose track of time and forget a promised meeting.  We become prideful, vengeful, or gossip and a promised secret is repeated.  We break promises all the time, intentionally and unintentionally, which makes trust a difficult thing.

Psalm 89:33-34 says, “I will not remove from him my steadfast love or be false to my faithfulness.  I will not violate my covenant or alter the word that went forth from my lips.”  If I am honest, I find some of God’s promises easier to believe than others.  I can read in scripture how God made promises to Abraham or David and see how He fulfilled those promises.  What about His promise to never leave or forsake me? Trusting that promise when it feels like He has abandoned me is hard to do.  What about when I experience evil at the hands of someone else but don’t receive justice? It is hard to hold onto the future promises of God.

Dee Henderson wrote, “Is a promise made that’s not yet delivered on any less of a promise? God is trustworthy. It isn’t easy to take that on faith when circumstances are tough, but that’s what He asks of you.”  Think about it.  Is God’s promise any less of a promise, is He any less trustworthy, because He fulfills His promise in His way and His time, not mine? 

We have to focus on the One who is making the promises.  He is the one who “is not man, that he should lie, or a son of man, that he should change his mind.” (Numbers 23:19)  In the same verse, we are reminded, “Has he said, and will he not do it?  Or has he spoken, and will he not fulfill it?” 

Look at who He is; rest in the love of the promise-keeping God who is faithful even when we are not.

Leave a Reply

