“When darkness seems to hide His face….”

On my drive home last week, I saw the brightest, most beautiful rainbow in the sky.  It took my breath away.  I noticed, as I continued my drive, that I saw the rainbow most clearly in the places where the clouds were darkest.  In the last couple of years, I’ve revisited some of the darkest times in my life.  I remember going through those times and thinking I couldn’t see anything but the dark clouds–fear, despair, believing I was alone.  Yet, as  I look back now, I see that those times have become dear to me.  Those are the times when I most clearly see the hand of my Father in my life.

The second lesson about faith that I’ve learned from the weather is not to base faith on feelings.  This lesson came one day while walking in the sunshine and realizing how cold it was outside.  Even though the sun was out and bright, all I felt was the cold wind.  Did that mean the sun was no longer warm?  Of course not!  Do we cease believing the sun exists simply because the clouds hide it?  How silly!  So why do I doubt God’s love during times when I don’t “feel” it?  He hasn’t changed.  His steadfast love for me hasn’t changed.

When darkness veils his lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In ev’ry high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.

Leave a Reply

