Trust Daddy

“We might have a crash,” said the small girl anxiously, as the family car threaded its way through traffic.  “Trust Daddy; he’s a good driver,” said Mommy.  The young lady was reassured, and she relaxed at once.

This is an excerpt from “Knowing God” by J.I. Packer.  As I read this short scene, I was reminded of numerous car rides as a child.  I constantly wanted to know where we were going.  Eventually, my mom began responding with “Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride.”  It was her way of telling me I didn’t need to know everything.  As I think on it now, I realize that I wanted reassurance that we were going to reach our destination, and my mom was saying, “trust me; I know where we’re going.”

It’s the same with God.  Psalm 119:105 says “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”  Have you ever had to walk somewhere in the dark?  Unless you carry a spotlight in your pocket (which I seriously doubt any of us do), the flashlights we use only give enough light to see the next step.  Similarly, God grants enough light, from His Word, for the next step.  If we could see the entire path, we wouldn’t depend on our Father to guide us safely to our destination.  Just like the little girl in the story, I need to be reminded that Daddy is a good driver and then sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

