Working backwards

Friends have heard me say that I tend to work my theology backwards.  What I mean is that I tend to look at human relationships and decide that God must be like that.  WRONG!!  In chapter 19 of “Knowing God” author J.I. Packer says, “God has not left us to guess what his fatherhood amounts to by drawing analogies from human fatherhood.” (p 204)   We are not supposed to look at humans and say “that is how God is”.  Instead, we are to look at God and realize that is how we are to be.

Another quote from the same chapter says, “For God intends the lives of believers to be a reflection and reproduction of Jesus’ own fellowship with himself.” (p 204) This quote was a light bulb moment for me.  To realize that God wants to be as close and intimate with me, with all His children, as He was with Jesus.  That is shocking to me.  That the God of the universe, the Creator of the ends of the earth, wants to be close to me.  My immediate reaction is to ask, “why?”  It doesn’t make sense.  And, I’m starting to think it’s not meant to.  If everything made sense, there would be no need for faith.  No dependence on God.

Leave a Reply

