Thin ice and a firm foundation

I was thinking tonight on the drive home about how I view my relationship with God.  Strangely, I realized that I view my current relationship like walking on a frozen lake.  I approach it like testing for thin ice.  I check to make sure I won’t fall through, make sure my footing is secure.  What has struck me over the past few days is that I don’t have to test my footing.  I still approach God with hesitation.  Yet, scripture tells me,
“Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may
receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”   ~ Hebrews 4:16
(emphasis added).
And,
“Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by
the blood of Jesus,”  ~ Hebrews 10:19
Also,
“therefore thus says the Lord God, ‘Behold, I am the one who has laid as a foundation in Zion, a stone, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone, of a sure foundation:”  ~ Isaiah 28:16

So, while I keep testing for sure footing, God’s word tells me that the foundation is secure.  And Psalm 136 drives home the point by repeating “His steadfast love endures forever” a total of 26 times.  So, why do I keep testing the ground beneath my feet?

 

Leave a Reply

